HTML Validation Barely a Ranking Factor

I’ve always been of the persuasion that valid HTML code is quite essential to ranking organically, on any SE. Apparently, it possibly has less of an impact than I thought; my line of thinking was “If spiders read code and your code is bad, how can they read your site?”

Then again, I’ve primarily been focused on HTML coding – Does valid script or CSS coding have an impact?

What do you think?

clipped from www.thegooglecache.com

W3C HTML Validation and Search Engine Optimization

It has been a while since I have posted some of Virante’s research to the blog, and a good friend and former COO Bob Misita called me out on it. I figured I would release some of the data from a recent study we did on the relationship of W3C HTML Validation and web page rankings. Because validation is quite complex, we chose to take a macro-look rather than our traditional methodology of getting individual sites into the SERPs via sitemaps and then tweaking individual independent variables.

  blog it
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

