Googleopoly?

Google Maps, Reader, Lively, Mail, et cetra, et cetra, et cetra. But Wait! There’s More:
Well, well. ‘Google Chrome.’ You’ve heard of it, yes? I ponder…

 

Speed, security, open source. How Google has put these three in-line with each other is a bit beyond me, but my limited test run with Chrome shows *significant* speed increases, so I can safely say that I’ll play with it a bit.

Hopefully, I’ll be able to write about it’s best, and worst, features. Although, the idea of a browser’s performance moving me to write is a bit, well… disconcerting. But those are the breaks, right?

Anyhoo, the point of my posting anything regarding a browser is because of two things: (1) It’s a Google product (Hello! If this thing hits big and I ignored it, I’d look a bit ‘steewpid,’ to say the least.), and (2) Rendering concerns.

Google said:

Google Chrome uses the same open source rendering engine as Apple’s Safari browser (WebKit), so your landing pages and sites should appear in Google Chrome as they do in Apple Safari. The way users interact with ads and sites should be similar as well.

Ensuring that your site renders correctly in Safari is a good indicator that GChrome will navigate your site just fine, but I recommend trying it out to be sure. If GChrome takes off (and I’ve very little reason to believe that it won’t) and you haven’t prepared for it, you’ll only be cutting off your nose to spite your face, in essence.

Thanks for dropping by and please leave comments of any kind regarding GChrome – it should be interesting to watch unfold.

Chat Man

clipped from googleblog.blogspot.com

A fresh take on the browser

9/01/2008 02:10:00 PM
At Google, we have a saying: “launch early and iterate.” While this approach is usually limited to our engineers, it apparently applies to our mailroom as well! As you may have read in the blogosphere, we hit “send” a bit early on a comic book introducing our new open source browser, Google Chrome. As we believe in access to information for everyone, we’ve now made the comic publicly available — you can find it here. We will be launching the beta version of Google Chrome tomorrow in more than 100 countries.
  blog it
4 Responses to Googleopoly?

  1. seochatter says:

    I can say that the admin side of WordPress seems to be speedier on GChrome, too!

  2. Thai SEO says:

    IE is going to offer users a chance to set IE to “private”, which will block Google’s Adwords advertising then Google Chrome born. Google Chrome is clean and fast. But I love Firefox.

  3. seochatter says:

    I couldn’t agree more, Thai. I’m a Firefox addict (mostly for the add-ons) because Mozilla did the Open Source thing *first*. I appreciate Google’s work (to prove it, I think I’ll use GChrome for WordPress, permanently!) and think that they’ve done a bang-up job, but until developers grace GChrome with the same add-ons and extensions as Firefox, my loyalties will, very much, lie with Mozilla.

    Although, I think you’re on to something as far as IE’s next release and it’s AdWords ‘management’ and GChrome’s ‘accidently precipitated’ release. However, I think the dust will have to settle a bit before we see who busted who’s bubble.

    Side Note: Google did not develop GChrome to have any preference for AdWords or Search Engine default. Google truly made GChrome as un-proprietary as possible.

  4. […] on the concept of the Googleopoly with so many current advancements from SEs and the recent release of GChrome. Believe it or not, from those seemingly tangential writings, I was headed in a very specific […]

Leave a Reply

