Googleopoly Part 2: The Changing Landscape

My first Googleopoly post merely hinted at an idea that was still developing; I was unsure if the dust had settled and thought better of going into some detail on a few ideas. It seems, as of this moment, that the storm has passed and the seas should begin settling. For now…

I’ve noticed a severe and drastic change in the landscape of search from just a month ago. Even if you’ve really been watching, you’ll be surprised to know that, in the past 3 weeks:

Google data scrapers stopped working – SERP structure changes broke many SEO tools
Google ChromeThe omnibox All indicators are that Google has not monopolized its browser
Yahoo! BOSS – A whole new ability to “foster innovation in the search landscape”
Yahoo! SiteExplorer new features
Weather Report: Yahoo! Search Index Update
Yahoo! SearchMonkey – Yahoo!’s new developer platform that uses data web standards and structured data to enhance the usefulness of search results
Live Search Webmaster Tools – All new look at Live’s indexes
IE 8 – All indicators are that Micro$oft has not monopolized itsbrowser

For that much activity across all search engines, within such a short period of time, one could only reason that competition is getting quite fierce!

Which, brings me to my Googleopoly theory:

The internet’s prime activities are divided between Search, Email, and Social Networking (for general purposes). Google, quite well established as ‘The Virtual Search Engine,’ snook into email and woo’d many-a ex-hotmailers with function, form, and organization. Two down, one to go: YouTube (and G got into bed with MySpace, too!). Well, Google has all of its fingers in the three primary facets of virtual life.

Enter: Chrome

This set a stir amongst ‘the community.’ “Google has all my private info!” people rant. {You gave it to them.} “Google has a monopoly and doesn’t play fair!” {Umm, anyone remember that kindergarten is over and maybe it’s time to stop whining about sand in your shoe and just get out of the sandbox?} “Google is spying on me and stealing my data/web habits!” {Isn’t it quite obvious that there are other service providers?}

Strange for me, the individualistic, independent, freedom-loving treehugger, that I’m OK with the ‘Googleopoly.’ Why? For some very simple reasons:

Google’s track record: I’ve seen very few ‘big’ companies stress transparency and practice it. I love finding Yahoo! pages in the Google SERPS. It tells me that the Google algorithms (alGoorithms, I like to call ’em) aren’t capitalistically skewed. Hell, if Google did capitalistically skew (in other words, if Google’s organic results were skewed toward all things G) their results, ya know – their bread and butter, why would people have continued to use their search for so long? And how would they have gotten away with a decade and a half charade? Let’s remember that there are ex-Googlers out there, too; and I’m sure each and everyone of them knows what a binary log is, mmm-kay. So, keeping a lid on things at Google seems to be a trick that Area51/Roswell, NM has had to issue federal orders to acheive… Hmmm…

Google’s unbiased. Okay, okay, before I get thrown out of the virtual world and end up in the darkest recesses of my own imagination permanently, I should say that I’m basing my ‘unbiased’ judgment of Google on computers. Thoughtless, relentless, and ever impersonal, when a computer runs algos against my site and I lose, no matter how much of a labor-of-love it is, I know there’s no one to blame but myself; I need to try again. The algos don’t know/care/acknowledge who I am, period. It is in this bastian of unbiasedness that public voice can rise against corporate doctrine, personal point-of-view can challenge established tradition, and (gotta add the fun stuff!) I can order a pizza however I want it!

Google, and its unbiased Googleopoly, are not the only choices. Google does NOT hold the keys to the ‘promised land’ – it’s just a really good PR machine, if you have something worth saying that other people want to hear in a language anyone can understand.

So, unlike Rockefeller who starved his competition out just for the title of ‘It’s all mine,’ Google is enhancing the competitive landscape by giving (1) more avenues to compete, and (2) getting the audience involved in what was, once, merely a boring spectator’s sport.

As long as I have other choices (and I do explore those choices quite heavily and quite often), I’m fine with it. Because, if I don’t like it, I can always go somewhere else.

Chat Man

2 Responses to Googleopoly Part 2: The Changing Landscape

  1. […] Expertise Needed! I begain touching on the concept of the Googleopoly with so many current advancements from SEs and the recent release of GChrome. Believe it or not, from those seemingly tangential writings, I […]

Leave a Reply

